Johanna Beisteiner - Don Quijote
CD GR-122

Besides standard works by various Spanish composers, Johanna Beisteiner chose for this CD two particularities. The guitarist wrote a fantasy on themes from the classical ballet Don Quijote by the eminent Viennese composer Ludwig Minkus (1826-1917), who used for this work spirited Spanish dances as well as lyrical melodies.

In her fantasy Johanna Beisteiner creates an exceptional connection between Austrian and Spanish music for the classical guitar repertoire. Moreover, she recorded for the first time Night in Granada by russian composer Eduard Shafransky, a work which was inspired by flamenco.

Johanna Beisteiner - Don Quijote CD GR-122

Johanna Beisteiner (*1976):
1. Don Quijote Fantasy on themes from a ballet by Ludwig Minkus

Eduard Shafransky (1937-2005):
2. Night in Granada

Fernando Sor (1778-1839):
3. Variations on a theme by Mozart, op. 9

Francisco Tárrega (1852-1909):
4. Fantasy on Verdi's La traviata
5. Tango Maria
6. Recuerdos de la Alhambra

Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909), from Suite española op. 47:
7. Asturias
8. Granada
9. Sevilla

Miguel Llobet (1878-1938): Two Catalan folk songs
10. El testamento d'Amelia
11. El noi de la mare
12. Notturno

Back  Top

- Abbey Road
- Steve Hackett
- Gramofon