Johanna Beisteiner - Austrian Rhapsody
CD GR-102

On this new album of mine I present music for guitar solo from my home country Austria.

During the time of Biedermeier the guitar was a popular instrument not only for accompaniment and chamber music,
but was used as a solo instrument, too. The guitarist and composer Johann Kaspar MERTZ, born in Pressburg (Bratislava) and later living in Vienna, left several original compositions for guitar as well as arrangements of songs by his contemporary, Franz SCHUBERT.

Schubert’s friend Anton DIABELLI – more known as a pianist, composer and publisher – also wrote pieces for guitar solo, inter alia, Three Sonatas op. 29. On this recording you can hear the rarely performed Sonata in C Major.

My first own composition, Zemlinsky’s Night, was inspired by themes from songs by Alexander von ZEMLINSKY (1871–1942): The moon has come to complain and Blue little star from Walzergesänge op. 6 and At Midnight op. 2. Since 2012 is Zemlinsky’s 70th year of death, I wanted to remind the listener of this great Austrian composer

Johanna Beisteiner

Johanna Beisteiner - Austrian Rhapsody CD GR-102

Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829)
1. Rossiniana Nr. 1 op. 119 Mp3

Ferdinando Carulli (1770-1841)
Sei Andanti op. 320
2. I. Andante affettuoso con poco moto
3. II. Andante con moto
4. III. Andante molto sostenuto
5. IV. Andante giusto
6. V. Andante - Leggiero e grazioso
7. VI. Andante risoluto

Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840)
Grand Sonata in A major
8. I. Allegro risoluto Mp3
9. II. Romanza
10. III. Andantino variato

Luigi Legnani (1790-1877)
from 36 Caprices op. 20
11. Nr. 18 F minor
12. Nr. 26 C# minor

Back  Top

- Abbey Road
- Steve Hackett
- Gramofon