Djabe - Sheafs are Dancing

Released in 2004
You can enjoy the best studio album of Djabe, Sheafs are Dancing in real surround 5.1.
- Playable by all DVD players.
- Audio tracks can be reached by DVD-video players: DTS 5.1, Dolby Digital 5.1 and 2.0.
- Audio track can be reached by DVD-audio players: MLP 5.1 and MLP 2.0.
- Guests: Steve Hackett, Ben Castle
- Extras: Videoclips, Concertfootage, Documentaries (English and Hungarian), Picture galleries.
- DVD authoring made by Abbey Road Interactive.
- 14 pages colour booklet.
- No Region Code.

In 2003 Djabe prepared the best album of its career, the "Sheafs are Dancing". The material of the album was inspired by the paintings of the internationally known painter, Imre Égerházi. Tamás Barabás's (bass guitar) and Attila Égerházi's (guitar) tuns follow the set up of "one painting, one track".

Imre Égerházi's Hungarian picture word is made sound by Barabás's authentic arrangement. Ferenc Kovács's (violin, trumpet, flugelhorn) Hungarian folklore violin play is one of the most original sounds in all of Europe, his trumpet play on the album suggests the lyrics of the paintings. Zoltán Kovács's (keyboards) acoustic piano solos open up soundly the painter's harmonized compositions and control of paint material. After the African, Latin and Indonesian sounds, András Sipos (percussion) brings completely new colours through his Hungarian percussion. The album is characterized by Szilárd Banai's (drums) music rhythm and multicolour. In the track of "The House on the Hill", for instance, he uses three snare drums. The album was welcomed with great success both by the expertise and audience. The production was nominated for the Fonogram prize, in the category of "The jazz album of the year" in 2004.

The album was presented through a large-scale concert tour in Hungary and in the surrounding countries. The concerts were uniquely performed, in real 5.1 surround sound, thanks to Tamás Barabás' music direction. The auditorium was surrounded by loudspeakers and because of this the audience was seated right in the middle of the band. From this tour the "Scenes" track can be seen on the DVD, recorded in the Pesti Vigadó. According to the Stereo High End magazine "if there is a High End in concert sound, then the production of Djabe was it". Djabe did not mesmerise the audience only with sound but also with vision, as usual. The paintings and inspiring topics were projected onto a huge screen, often Imre Égerházi's own, super 8 films. The "Iceworld" animation film got on the DVD from this projected video material, which was produced by Attila Égerházi and Focus-Fox animation studio on the bases of Imre Égerházi's paintings inspired by the experience of being in clinical death.

Due to the "The Sheafs are dancing" album the band received several European and overseas invitations (Kaunas, London, Sarajevo, Bratislava, Rochester, Washington, Pori, Stockholm, Burghausen etc.) therefore Djabe could enhance further the reputation of Hungarian music and musicians in the world.

The excellent work of Barabás Tamás can be heard in the best sound quality at present by the owners of DVD Audio player within the DVD equipment, to these people the MLP 5.1 sound-track is also available. Do not be dismayed if you "only" own a normal DVD player, as the mixed surround was put on in DTS and Dolby Digital form also onto the not everyday record.

Naturally the film extras can be enjoyed in the most excellent sound quality, too.
The material gets visually complete by the video clips, the concert film, the werkfilm and the portrait film on Imre Égerházi, especially prepared for the album. In the painting gallery we receive a cross-section on the life art of Imre Égerházi. Naturally, the 14 pages booklet contains the photos of all of the paintings, the biography of the artist and detailed information on music and musicians.

Sheafs are dancing DVD-Audio won the international Prince Award as “The best multimedia work”.

Djabe releases can be ordered from the new Djabe Webhop:

Djabe - Sheafs are Dancing

1. Sheafs are Dancing
2. Scenes - Above Poland
3. Scenes - Sunset at the Seaside
4. Street Scene of Hajdúböszörmény
5. The House on the Hill
6. Hortobágy at Winter
7. In the Snowstorm
8. Behind th Veil
9. Talkers
10. Reproach Mp3
11. Reflections of Thiérache
12. The Mountains of Gyimes
13. Flying
14. Iceworld
15. Flowers Stillness

Barabás Tamás – bass, synth program, percussion
Égerházi Attila - guitar
Kovács Ferenc - violin, trumpet, flugelhorn
Kovács Zoltán – piano, keyboards
Sipos András - percussion
Banai Szilárd – drums

Steve Hackett - guitar
Ben Castle - soprano saxophone
Szalai Péter - tabla
Herczeg Judit - vocal

Back  Top

- Abbey Road
- Steve Hackett
- Gramofon
- Szardínia szállás