Djabe: Gödöllő 2001. 06. 26 
2014 Edition CD

Here is Djabe’s updated new release of the extended and re-mastered CD of their legendary tour “Update”, which was originally released in 2004.
The renewed band’s album entitled “Update” was released at the beginning of June in 2001. Following the press conference the band ran into the rehearsal room and started to prepare for his biggest ever nationwide tour by that time. On 21st of June, saxophonist Ben Castle from England joined to the band.

The main rehearsal took place at the Gödöllő Theatre on the 22nd and then the first performance on the 23rd. It’s worth listening to the performance of the 7-member Djabe premiere again hence that was the start of a significant time in the life of the group. It’s also a great enjoyment listening Ben Castle and Ferenc Kovács as they are reacting to each other’s plays on the stage.

One of the delicacies of the record made in Gödöllő is Tamás Barabás ’composition entitled “My Way”

Multitrack recording were made at four stations of the “Update” tour. The Budapest concert was released on DVD entitled „Flying”, the Szolnok one was put on market both in 5.1 and in stereo as an extra DVD of the 10th anniversary re-release “Update” album in 2012. Multitrack recording was also made at Bori Jazz Days at the Sports Hall. This show lasted shorter because of the festival program than the usual ones normally took as long as three hours. The Cegléd recording is still resting in the tape cupboard, waiting for its mixing and release to come.

The gig in Gödöllő was the opening stage of the tour. Despite this all, the production is completely matured and listening to it provides great enjoyment. This CD is focusing on the Update album numbers from the three-hour long set. It was originally released in 2004 as a Djabe club release. Now it was remastered by Tamas Barabas, and extended with a new track mixed down in 2014 from the original live performance. The bonus is the third track “Above the Skies” in this edition, from the Ly-Olay Ale Loya album, with a beautiful soprano sax solo by Ben.

Djabe releases can be ordered from the new Djabe Webhop:

Djabe - Djabe: Gödöllő 2001. 06. 26  2014 Edition CD

1. Gödöllő intro
2. Lay-O-Lay Ale Loya
3. Above The Skies
4. Distant Dance
5. Flying
6. First Step
7. Clouds Dance
8. Desire
9. My Way
10. Mayombe
11. Winter Forest
12. Barraguira

Barabás Tamás - bass
Égerházi Attila - guitars
Sipos András - vocal, percussions
Kovács Ferenc - trumpet, fugelnhorn, violin, vocal
Kovács Zoltán - keyboards
Banai Szilárd - drums
Ban Castle - tenor and soprano saxophone, flute, basszus klarinét

Back  Top

- Abbey Road
- Steve Hackett
- Gramofon